Yesterday

The cork pops out

with ease and the

wine flows.

I have work tomorrow –

back to the grind of rules, and timelines,

and potential failure.

But the cork is out

and the wine flows into

the glass unrestrained.

Tomorrow, I have things

to do that other people

will determine.

Things that are not mine.

But the glass in front of

me now obeys my every

command.

Tomorrow, I will wake

up at six-forty-five and ensure

my economic survival.

But today, there’s half

a bottle left and

I think I should drink

it before it turns into

vinegar. 

__________________

For Naz and Vivi.

5 thoughts on “Yesterday

Leave a Reply

