Morning Coffee

Morning Coffee

I don’t love my coffee in the morning,
It’s strong and soft and smooth.
I loathe sips of coffee in the morning,
It wakes me up, improves my mood.

Nothing worse than coffee in the morning,
Makes dull and dreary seem sublime.
If I sipped my coffee in the morning,
My shoddy shoes would start to shine;

Wouldn’t be such a frantic fretter,
Would have borne that beating better,
Would have consoled that doleful debtor,
Would not leave this lovelorn letter

____________________________

This one’s for Wenu, for helping me wake up every day.

3 thoughts on “Morning Coffee

Leave a Reply

